The CD Artwork

the progression of the painting
showing the progression,

The photos to the left show the progression of the CD cover artwork, beginning as a small and fragile world floating in space and becoming the colorful hybrid of fine and folk art seen below. The completed piece was made with the help of hundreds of contributions from around the world mailed in by adults and children, artists and not-artists alike and giving everyone’s contribution an equal importance. Each square is a microcosm of the large whole working together to create the theme of a connected universe with every tiny element playing an essential role.

The collage received the “Inspiration Award” as part of the Peace Project, a touring exhibition hosted by The Whole 9 Gallery in Los Angeles.








Thanks to all who participated in this project! (names are from the USA unless otherwise stated)    ….  ….   Rex Gilliland, Donna Schmidt, Mary Shannon (Ireland), Kit Holmes,  Gilbert Johnson, Wally  Mathews, Judith Treacy (NZ), Connie Green, Maureen Loadsman, Tore Rose, Michelle Love (Can), Ric Sternberg , Annie borden, Emmelina Audigier (Fran), Mary and Kevin McMorrow (Aus), Mia Wilson (Aus), Emily Wilson (Aus), James Allridge (he was executed Aug 26, 2004), Hether McCuistion, Vicki McCuistion, Jen Jacobs (Aus), Caleb Cherry, (Aus) Ariella Cherry (Aus), Sheryl Paris, Devorah Roytenberg Charash (Israel), Jo Beth Young (Eng), Jack McCabe, Carol Leehane (Can), Danita Clark (Aus) Ben Clark (Aus), Jennifer Dustmann (Aus), Maria Dustmann (Aus), Mia Dustmann (Aus), Chris Sismanis (Aus), Olivia Dustmann (Aus), Diana Lima (Can),  Stewart Moser, Aida Cerda-Prazak, John M Cook, Bruce Newlin, Kenyata, Anne Elizabeth, Brennan, Grace, Dana McBride, Leah (2 yrs), Alex  4 (yrs), D.R. Glenn, Jueri Svjagintsev, Greg Bell (Aus), Abbey (7 yrs), James Melia (Ireland),  Carina  (6 yrs), Jose (3 yrs), Arianis, Psacale Vollant (France), Asma Al Sarehi  13 ans, Chika Haga (Japan), Evelyn Nelson, Jean Synodinos, Amelia Hanna (Aus 3-yrs), Maragaret Hanna (Aus), Lambros Garagonoulis (Aus) Anthony Jackson (Aus), Joyce Tianello Snodgrass, Mette Jensen (Ireland), Rosaleen Tanham (Ire), Breege Fahy (Ire) Caron By-Knight, Nerissa Lea (Aus), Greg Bell (Aus), Aaron Bell (Aus), Randy Cannell (Canada), Joni Rogers, Matt Hiland, Victoria Gilpin (Can), Kandra Niagra, Lucy Senstad, Lori Schlechtleitner (Can), Marybeth Jolicoeur (Can), Lori Paulus    Jennifer Wheatley Arlington, Ghislaine Kruse Van Erp, Karl Stiel, Kirsten J (Ireland)